Bitten By The Blogging Bug (Say That Three Times Fast!)

Blogging_bug I’ve tried it before…blogging, that is. I’ve started and stopped blogging a few times on various scrapbooking web sites. Somehow, I never really got into it and I wasn’t sure why. I love to write. In fact, that’s the whole reason I started scrapbooking in the first place. I loved that there were albums and all sorts of products that allowed me to write little stories behind my pictures and save them all together. Before that, it was photo albums and a whole lot of narration as people looked through my photo albums.

Scrapbooking is a whole new dimension, much like, as I’m learning, the world of blogging. And the most interesting thing about this world is that you can easily make friends online and in person. Oftentimes, you may never meet these friends but they may know a *lot* about you – how you think, what you do, what makes you happy or sad – before you lay eyes on them, if ever. By the time you do meet face to face, you feel as if you’ve known this person for years.

I’ve made many scrapbooking friends this way over the last ten years. To this day, I am still trying to figure out when in my lifetime I’m going to be able to meet some or all of them. We all feel very close to each other and I’ve been lucky to meet a few here and there. This, I’ve learned is the same as in the blogging world I recently entered.

I have a couple moms of twins friends who finally roped me into this blogosphere. They convinced me to contribute to the Silicon Valley Moms Blog. I figured that if I was ever going to start blogging, now was a good time. SVMoms blog already has a large readership, so I wouldn’t have to worry about “driving” people to my writings. And the number of blog entries required per month is more than reasonable. It was a very low-pressure, low-key entry into the blogging world…and a great way for me to see if blogging was really something for me.

So here I am…with my own blog, writing about whatever my heart desires…usually about our girls. And it’s fun. If my mom had anything to say about it, she’d say I got it from my grandmother. She was a rather prolific writer of children’s stories and poems. I’m not sure if that’s where this desire to write came from. In fact, I think it might be related to my scrapbooking addiction. A friend of mine read an article where the author referred to blogging as the “underbelly of scrapbooking.” For me, that might be true. The ability to journal was my whole reason for scrapbooking in the first place. However it happened, I know that I have a lot to say and many stories to tell that I don’t want to leave hidden in our scrapbooks.

Original It’s Never Easy, But It’s Always Fun blog post by MommyTwinGirls.

Leave a Reply

