Growth-Spurt Prone Preschoolers – What’s A Mother To Do?

Growthspurt It’s that time again. Time to send out birthday wishes for our girls to their relatives. Toys? Sure. I just filtered through their massive toy collection. I diligently sorted out the 3-year-old-and-less-aged games and play stuff into plastic bags – ready for donation to our nearest charity. There is space for a few more things in their playroom now. Besides, I’m always curious what their Norwegian counterparts might be into at this age.

Oh and I have birthday wishes, too, for my girls. As a mother of growth-spurt prone preschoolers, I welcome the help in keeping my kids clothed. I feel as if the practical, frugal side of me is constantly at war with my gotta-have-it-too-cute-to-pass-up side. I mean, the selection of precious little girl clothes is unending. Luckily (or unluckily, depending on how you look at it), I have a great excuse to purchase more than one of anything that catches my eye – I have twin girls that just happen to be the same size…sorta.

Generally speaking, I like to get clothes that they could wear now but still have room to grow into – buying them at least 5 or 6 months of use before tossing it in the ready-to-donate bags. But I’m starting to experience that same frustration I always felt in searching for clothes that fit me well (e.g., thighs are too narrow and waists are too big in pants, shoulders fit fine but the sleeves are too tight) as I search for clothes to fit my girls. Gosh it was nice being able to buy clothes for a certain age and know they’ll fit. But now, those little style details are starting to derail any sense of dimension. One of my girls seems to have a longer torso than the other while the other seems to have a slightly bigger waist. One seems to have thicker quads while the other’s legs are thinner and longer – and they only differ in height by ½ inch. I can’t just buy one dress in two different colors anymore. Now, I have to pay attention to the design – is it fitted at the waist? Are the legs meant to be baggy or tight? Do the pants run long or short? Ugh!

Moreover, a size 6 is not a size 6 is not a size 6, as you already know. Each designer and manufacturer offers their own interpretation of the number. Combine that with European sizing, designers and manufacturers and well, it’s not nearly as easy to communicate their sizes as one would think. Giving their Scandinavian relatives the height and weight usually gets them pretty close to the right size…but not completely.

Oh well, I guess I shouldn’t expect anything different. Mixing those Filipino and Norwegian genes are sure to result in very different body types for our girls. I’m sure it’s going to get worse. It’s just a fact of life. heavy sigh

Original It’s Never Easy, But It’s Always Fun blog post by MommyTwinGirls.

Leave a Reply

