A Night At the Auction

Gcauctiontopicdayintro Last week, we held our annual Gemini Crickets Auction/Fundraiser event. And what a fun evening it was! We raised the most $$$ in the history of this club. If you’ve been paying attention, I happen to be one of the co-presidents [of the club] and it makes me especially proud. The Auction/Fundraiser is always the biggest concern for anyone taking on the president’s position each year.

As you can imagine, there are a lot of things that go into making such an event successful. One of the things we did last year was to create “packages” of donations to increase the overall value of a given prize. We offered things like the “Date Night” package (movie tickets and a gift certificate to a local restaurant) a “Pamper Yourself” package (gift certificates to a hair salon, massage and manicure) and a Los Gatos Getaway Package (free night at Hotel Los Gatos, a spa certificate, and a gift certificate for dinner at Dio Deka) and others. We did the same thing this year. In my case, however, I created one for our family that evening…though I didn’t realize it until the end of the evening.

To be honest, I didn’t realize the types of things I bid on until I actually won most of them:

In the back of my mind, I knew that T would welcome anything related to hangin’ out in Tahoe any time of the year. Subconsciously, that’s probably what drove my choices that night. But there were two other prize winnings that held much more instant gratification for me – the newest version of Adobe Photoshop Elements (gotta stay up with the latest) and the granddaddy of them all…two free tickets to Disneyland! Yippee! I’ve been trying to win these tickets for the last 3 auction years. And though we could certainly just buy them when we do visit the Land of a Million Dreams, it became a sort of personal challenge to win the thing. Hee hee hee

And now I can rest easy, not only because I finally won the biggest prize of them all (well, in my opinion) but because as the end of my co-presidency nears, I’m leaving this role with the club healthy in finances and solid in next year’s leadership.

Original It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog post by MommyTwinGirls.

Leave a Reply

