Please HELP These Children’s Education Projects

SvIt seems to be that time of the year again…requests for donations and support for various causes here and there through email or at the front door. While there are countless charities and support organizations I would love to support, I choose those that touch me in some way, shape or form since I can’t donate to all of them.

When I donate to an organization, I want to know that my dollars are directly helping someone. I’m not a billionaire, or millionaire for that matter, and the little I can offer has to mean something…at least that I can see. While I could always write a check, I choose to support my charities, including the Susan G. Komen breast cancer foundation and the Leukemia Society, through some sort of activity – running a 5K, biking a century and the like. This way, not only am I supporting the organizations I care about, I’m helping out my friend achieve a couple goals – a fundraising one and a physical one.

And then I was introduced to DonorsChoose.org via the Silicon Valley Moms Blog. It’ an effort to highlight the needs of schools throughout the country and give us all a way to directly support those needs. We at Silicon Valley Moms Blog are working together to get the word out. Click here to get a complete list of those projects we all decided to support in Northern California. Simply review the list and choose one or two or more projects and offer your support with a donation through this link and/or on the sidebar of this blog.

I have to say that I absolutely love this concept. I know exactly where my dollars will be used and how it will help. It’s something that easily touched my heart as I read the needs of each teacher. I’m supporting this cause. I hope you will, too.

Oh and BTW, we have a little contest among our various SV Moms groups on who can get the most donors and donations. The deadline for the contest is Oct. 31st but of course, DonorsChoose.org will be available for you to support long after.

An original It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog post. MommyTwinGirls can also be found at Solheim Photography posting favorites from her latest photo shoots, recounting the joys and challenges of raising twins on Mad About Multiples and contributing stories of her foibles and triumphs in mommyhood at Silicon Valley Moms Blog.

Leave a Reply

