The Halloween Fairy Is Coming!

Img_9700_copy_bw_3 With each passing Halloween holiday, our little angels (“K” did a quick change to Cinderella for trick-or-treats) build more and more stamina during the main trick-or-treating event. Indeed, we moved beyond our usual route of up and down our own street and added two adjacent streets that “T” had heard were particularly fun. Apparently, several homes really get into the ghoulish spirit and decorate their houses accordingly. One even had a haunted house you had to steal through to reach the cauldron of sweets guarded by a spooky witch at the end. “L” and “K” held on tightly to our fingers as we made our way through the dark paths. Gosh that was fun!

But as we neared the street behind our house, “L” and “K” wanted to go home. They wanted to admire everything in their bags. They thought it was enough…probably because they were tired of carrying it. But the adrenaline rushed back when we caught up with another group of slightly older girls on our route. As we joined them for a few more houses, the girls raced the other group to reach the door first.

But once we split off from the group, they could feel every ounce of their candy-filled Halloween bags. Right about that time, it started to rain and the girls couldn’t wait to get home to get out of the rain *and* admire their newest acquisitions.

Of course, a longer trick-or-treat route meant a lot more candy. UGH! I decided not to worry about it until the next day. After all, it was Halloween and they had to go to bed soon anyway. I went to sleep wondering what I was going to do to get rid of all those sweets as I didn’t want to constantly explain to them why they couldn’t eat every bit of their evening’s earnings. So on Sunday, I let them have a few pieces in the afternoon…but of course, had to tell them to stop.

“Why, Mommy?” “K” asked.

“Because it’s not good to have so much candy,” I replied.

“But why, Mommy?” “K” continued, “I brushed my teeth.”

“Because there’s too much sugar. You can have 2 more pieces,” I said.

“But Mommy, “L” had more pieces than I did. She had 3. I only get 2. How about 4 pieces, Mommy?” “K” negotiated.

“No, one more and that’s enough,” I said, hoping the conversation was done. Time to distract her with a different idea.

“Go clean your playroom and you’ll earn a marble,” I suggested.

“OK, Mommy. I can’t wait to earn another marble!” “K” laughed and headed to the other room.

Whew! I knew she’d be back again…so would her sister. I needed a different plan here. My original one was to simply remove half of the candy that was left each evening. The problem with that idea was that I’d still be subjected to several repeats of the above discussion over the next few days. I needed something different. Then my friend, Linsey called.

“Oh, the Halloween Fairy is coming tonight,” she said.

Aha! The answer to my worries. And Linsey explained exactly who she was and what she did. Akemi, another mommy friend, heard that it was called the Switch Witch by others. I didn’t think my girls would go for that one but a fairy? Hmmmmm…now *that* plan had merit. And the greatest benefit of the Halloween Fairy routine was that the candy would be gone in one fell swoop!

HalloweenfairyIf you haven’t heard of it, here’s our variation of it. I told the girls that Linsey just called me to remind me that the Halloween fairy was coming! She gathers up all the candies from children’s trick-or-treating and gives them to other people, other children that didn’t get to trick-or-treat. There are lots of kids in this world that aren’t as lucky as them and they don’t get to trick-or-treat (that got their sympathies). In its place, as a thank you, she leaves toys for the little boys and girls. So, we told “L” and “K” that Mommy and Pappa wanted them to each pick out 10 pieces of candy for themselves and then, we’d leave the rest out for the Halloween fairy. We would leave it at the front door and when they came down in the morning, they could see what she left.  Ingenious!

“OK, Mommy,” and “L” picks out 10 pieces.

“But Mommy, I don’t know what the Halloween fairy looks like,” says “K”.

“You know, I’m not sure what she looks like either because she always comes at night time, when we’re all asleep,” I replied. “But I do know she leaves toys for all the nice little kids who give her their candies.”

Big smile from “K”. “OK, Mommy.” And with that, she chose 10 pieces to keep.

That was easier than I thought! And now the candies are safely hidden away in “T”‘s snack shelf for our occasional sweet tooths. In its place are a couple boxes of princess jewelry, decorative ponytail holders, a couple wooden games and a princess puzzle. Gotta love the dollar section at Target.   😉

Whew! Well, I don’t know if this will work next year but I’ll just enjoy the results of this year’s scam plan.

An original It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog post. MommyTwinGirls can also be found at Solheim Photography posting favorites from her latest photo shoots, recounting the joys and challenges of raising twins on Mad About Multiples and contributing stories of her foibles and triumphs in mommyhood at Silicon Valley Moms Blog.

Leave a Reply

