Weekend Getaway to Disneyland

Christmas Fantasy Parade (1104-DL-9999)
(photo courtesy of Disneyland)

“This is the best hotel ever!” exclaimed Songwriter as she watched yet another fireworks display explode in the distance from our hotel window. Munching on room service in the Grand Californian Hotel as we ate dinner last night, our little weekend getaway (courtesy of Disneyland, my connection to Silicon Valley Moms Blog and active writing on our family blog) has already sparked a little magic for our girls. And for me, a trip down south to Disneyland to enjoy the opening of the Christmas holiday festivities, is just one of those things I’ve wanted to do for many years…an idea that has laid dormant in the back of my mind. Until now.

But now, I’m a blogger; a mommy blogger at that. I have children. We love to travel and both Truls and I LOVE Disneyland. We have only fond memories of childhood trips to this park and it’s something we want our girls to share. Sure, we’re alerted to the over-commercialization of Disney-fied fairytales but that’s a daily worry with many things other than Disney. And a trip to the park is always something special.

So, here we are – our second trip this year (the first being on the girls’ birthday in March). And we’re all excited and can’t wait to run around the park in all its holiday glory. Yea, we’ve already been here this year but I’ve heard so much about what Disneyland does for the holidays, my curiosity has built to the we must go point.

The first thing I want to see? It’s A Small World. It has not only been renovated, it’s now decked out in holiday decor. I haven’t seen It’s A Small World since I was a child and it was always one of the first things we’d do whenever we visited. It’s been under renovation and when it opened, well, the line was so long, I couldn’t even begin to imagine standing there with two restless 5-year-olds in tow. But this weekend, we have priority access and that line will not be a deterrant this time.

Other things I can’t wait to see? How about snow on Main Street, Sleeping Beauty’s castle set in winter, the Christmas Holiday parade, ToonTown at Christmas and a new show based on the story of the Princess and the Frog. Oh, and the rides. Yes, the rides…of course!  🙂

It’s now 7:00am as I finish this post…waiting for my family to stir. We can enter the park right now because we’re staying at a Disneyland hotel. But Truls is not a morning person. Hmmm…maybe if I open this curtain just a little bit….

An original It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog post.

You may also find MommyTwinGirls at Silicon Valley Moms Blog telling tales of parenting in Silicon Valley, at Mad About Multiples recounting the ups and downs of raising twins and at Solheim Photography posting favorites from her latest photo shoots.

Leave a Reply

