Girl Scout Cookies For Sale!

My girls started Daisy Girl Scouts this year. Girls that start in Kindergarten or 1st grade (like mine) start as Daisy Girl Scouts. Then, they move up to Brownies for 2nd and 3rd grades and then Girl Scouts. When I started them in this troop a few months ago, I hadn’t thought about the Girl Scouts’ major fundraiser – cookie sales. And the memories, my memories that is, are not happy ones.

All I remember are frustration and disappointment. I dreaded each year when the time of year for cookie sales rolled around. I was shy as a kid, painfully shy. I hated knocking on doors and ringing doorbells only to be told No. I didn’t know how other girls in my troop did it but they seemed to bring in tons of sales. Mine were meager in comparison and I hated it. One year, I decided to bring my younger brother along and that turned out great. He was always well liked in the neighborhood, full of jokes and laughter. He sold most of my cookies and I couldn’t be happier.

Honestly, though, at least in my memories, I don’t think there was as much camaraderie within the troop. Perhaps I was just shy and scared to ask but I felt very alone doing these cookie sales. Fortunately, I don’t think my girls will feel the same way. We’re planning to do cookie sales at different locations (e.g., grocery stores and the like) with other girls from our troop. We’re also planning to walk around a neighborhood together with other girls in the troop. I don’t think they’re going to feel alone in this endeavor; also because they have each other.

But our neighborhood will be our own little market. There aren’t any Girl Scouts on our street and they know most of our neighbors. In fact, we visited three of them yesterday and took some orders. The official cookie sale season doesn’t start until mid-February, so we’re doing pre-sales and the girls couldn’t be more excited. Storyteller and Songwriter don’t really understand the difference between pre-sales and sales. They sell the cookies and later, they deliver them when they arrive. Simple as that.

ANYway, if yesterday was a good indicator, I have a couple of little saleswomen on my hands. Not only did they give their sales pitch rather coherently well, they threw in an unplanned performance of their Daisy song. And that sealed the deals. Who can resist a couple of almost-7-year-olds singing a song just for them with such enthusiasm?

An original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

Leave a Reply

