I Published Myself With SharedBook

Sorta. I mean, it’s a market of one and I don’t anticipate more than a handful of readers but hey, it’s written, formatted and printed in a hardcover book. A SharedBook. I LOVE it!

SharedBook (or Blog2Print) is a service that compiles all of your blog posts into a book and prints it. I first spied this when several of my Facebook friends liked their company page. So, I checked it out. I’ve been thinking about printing my blog posts for a long while now but really didn’t want to spend any time searching for a service to do it.

It was ridiculously easy…I just pointed it at my blog and SharedBook automagically compiled everything together including all the photos I’d posted. It took a long while because I included two years worth of posts but I really didn’t want to split it up. I was happy to wait if it meant I didn’t have to do any formatting myself.

When I reviewed each page, however, I realized one glaring problem. Those posts that had the Split Page command in them were truncated to one page. That is, only the first page printed out. Ugh. I decided I must have done something wrong. I mean, I can’t be the only blogger out there who splits her pages, can I? After several redo’s, I decided to contact Tech Support. Sadly, he admitted that they indeed, did not support that. What?! It seems such an obvious feature to include in such a product. He assured me that they were working on several enhancements to resolve conflicts between how bloggers blog and creating the books.

I didn’t want to wait that long. Once I decide to do something, I must do it…now. So, I took the time to go through all my posts and delete that split page command – oh and yea, that was the majority of them. Such is life.

I have to say that it was well worth the effort. I just received it and I’m very happy with it. It’s not perfect – the photos were a bit small but they were sized for the web in the posts, so that’s to be expected and I would have preferred to wrap the text around the photos  or print multiple photos in columns to save space but again, for me, no big deal.

Anyway, I have to say that this is a really nice keepsake. It’s so gratifying for me to see everything I’d written since I started blogging. I think that one day, my girls will definitely get a kick out of reading it…after they stop believing in Santa Claus, that is. There are a few Christmas posts in there that well, they’re just not ready for yet.

An original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

Leave a Reply

