You May Now Call Me the Bionic Woman

It is done. The implementation is complete. Both hips have been replaced with the latest composite materials available for hip replacements. My target? 30 years.

Today was my 2-week post-op appointment with my hip doctor, Dr. Matthew Miller of Stanford Hospital. He has been great and I highly recommend him to anyone who has to go through such a procedure. My left hip has been healing much like my right hip…though perhaps even a little better…and faster. I’ve been up on my feet and running around earlier than before. Though I’ve had a bit more swelling and soreness this time around, I guess that’s partly my fault. According to my husband, when I first came home after my right hip was replaced, I slept for most of the next 3-4 days. This time, I was walking around on my crutches and getting rides to the store. Easter was that weekend, after all, and there was quite a bit to do to prepare.

Just as I supposed, the home therapists emphasized the need for me to reduce the swelling in my leg. The swelling would hinder my recovery – that was enough to make me lay down for a couple of days. It would require my laying down, propping up my leg higher than my heart, and placing a cold compress on top. Oh OK. I could do that.

What was interesting was that I was in a position to do a direct comparison of care between the staffs at Stanford Hospital and that at El Camino Hospital of Los Gatos. At least, that’s what one of the nurses pointed out to me. I hadn’t thought of it that way but hey, as long as I was in a position to do so….

Both nursing staffs were great. Kind, helpful, responsive. My mother was a nurse for most of her life so I have a warm place in my heart for nurses. It takes a special personality and caring to be a good nurse. So, I can’t say that one staff was better than the other.

El Camino Hospital is a lot less intimidating than Stanford Hospital because of its small size and a lot closer to home. That was the greatest advantage. I knew that my family would be easily able to visit me before and/or after school and work…not that I was planning to stay for very long.

My restrictions remain for another 4 weeks – no crossing of my legs, no external/internal hip rotations and no bending at the hip beyond 90 degrees. Physical therapy is my priority 3x/week for the next couple of months. But life is already getting back to normal. I can drive now. And that is a huge step in gaining back my sense of freedom and shedding that sense of disability.

I’m so looking forward to this summer.

An original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

To see all of my posts related to my hip surgeries and recovery, check out these posts:

The Waiting is Over

Hip Dysplasia – It’s Not Just For Dogs

Halfway There – Right Hip Done!

You May Now Call Me The Bionic Woman

Time to Start on Some Personal Challenges

Finding My Temporary Limits

Too Much, Too Soon

One response

  1. Pingback: Time To Start on Some Personal Challenges | It's Never Easy But It's Always Fun

Leave a Reply

