Time To Start on Some Personal Challenges

View of Lexington Reservoir from Manzanita Trail on St. Joseph’s Hill

As most of my friends know, I had a couple of hip replacements done a few months ago. Since then, I’ve been in physical and water therapy sessions 3x/week. Now that those sessions are starting to wind down and I’m beginning to do more “normal” exercises (e.g., elliptical, bike), it’s time to set some personal physical goals for myself. I just feel the need to prove to myself that I can do it. With two new hips in place, I want to know that I can get completely back to myself, the active (and lighter and stronger) one.

The two that come to mind are completing my friend’s, Randi’s, list of Bay Area Top 10 hikes and a walk-a-thon. The hikes are all local and sound gorgeous. What better way to get to know new and different places than going for a long walk there? I’m not sure where she got the list or if she just made it up herself but what the heck. It’s about exploring new places and revisiting old ones…and challenging myself to do them.

Today, I get to check off number one on the list. Yea! In case you’re interested, here’s the list of hikes Randi and her friends completed.

  1. St. Joseph’s Hill, Los Gatos.
  2. Mission Peak in Fremont.
  3. Rancho San Antonio, Los Altos.
  4. Skyline @ Vista Point north of Alpine Rd. (Windy Hill in Palo Alto).
  5. Coyote Hill Regional Park in Fremont.
  6. Almaden Quicksilver. An awesome 3.8 mile hike.
  7. End of Serenity trail in El Sereno Open Space, Los Gatos. 7.4 miles.
  8. Villa Montalvo Arboretum and County Park.
  9. Sanborn to Skyline. Almost 9 miles long.
  10. Fremont Older. Looped around 5.2 miles.

Now, I don’t have specifics on exactly which trails they did so I guess that’s where I’ll just decide what I’m up for.

We returned from vacation a few days ago, which included a day at Disneyland and another day at Legoland. I spent 11 and 9 hours, respectively, walking around all day at those parks. I’m counting those days as training for this first hike.  hahaha

And then, I’d like to do a long walk-a-thon some time later in the year. Go a little extreme in distance, ya know.

BEFORE.  I just got this picture from my friend, Patricia, before Akemi and I climbed the last hill to the top of St. Joseph’s Hill. Note the big psych-up smiles.

AFTER.  Akemi and me at the top of St. Joseph’s Hill. View of Silicon Valley in background. Still smilin….

Yea, I’ve still got a long way to go with respect to flexibility and strength in my hips. But I’m feeling no pain when I walk (or sit down or stand up) and I’m just going to enjoy that fact on these hikes. Well, except for the blisters on my right heel…which won’t require major surgery to fix…so, I can’t complain too much on that front.

An original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

To see all of my posts related to my hip surgeries and recovery, check out these posts:

The Waiting is Over

Hip Dysplasia – It’s Not Just For Dogs

Halfway There – Right Hip Done!

You May Now Call Me The Bionic Woman

Time to Start on Some Personal Challenges

Finding My Temporary Limits

Too Much, Too Soon

Leave a Reply

