Lovin’ Their Summer Camps!

Well, well, well…even though I totally procrastinated on the whole summer camp planning thing, it seems my girls are quite happy with what I chose. Whew! Given vacation schedules and such, there was really only 5 weeks of camps I needed to schedule. My daughters’ only requirement – that another friend was there. Easy-peasy, right? hahaha Let’s just say that I was assured that at least *one* of their friends would be at each camp…sometimes more.

The Great Teddy Bear Adventure started off their summer camp season with fellow Brownie Girl Scouts at Camp Metro. Not only did they get to create and name their new friends, they got to make clothes, feed them and build a house for them. This was exactly the kind of thing my girls love to do.

Next up? A couple of Los Gatos Recreation camps – Destination Imagination and Mission Possible. This is the first summer they’ve offered camps at Union School District locations. And not only do my girls like the themes underlying the crafts and activities, they love the field trips twice each week – a day at Memorial Park, running around the Silver Creek Sportsplex, splashing in the LGHS pool and an afternoon movie (The Smurf Movie). Did I mention these field trips are included in the cost of the camp? And that kids can be dropped off as early as 7:30 a.m. and picked up as late as 6:00 p.m. without additional “extended care” fees? These are certainly the most cost-effective camps around and ideal for families with working parents.

I don’t know why I missed out on these LG camps before. Over the last few summers, I’d stuck with Camp Galileo and Destination Science. Both are fantastic camps and my girls loved them. But admittedly, they are expensive. And I had signed up for them in February when they were offering significant discounts on them along with the extended care. But as I mentioned, I procrastinated…and that has worked out well this summer.

This coming week, they’ll be sampling Steve and Kate’s Camp for a couple of days. I’d heard about these before summer. Apparently, the Los Gatos location is a new one for them. But I worried about the lack of structure in the camps…and the cost. It’s a free-choice camp – kids choose their own activities and their own meals and snacks. Like any other parent, I worry that there would not be enough supervision or that my girls would feel left out or shy and not take advantage of the myriad games and activities. This last thought is not a big concern but still…the cost is up there.

School is peeking around the corner and there are only two more weeks until it starts. This week will also include a few days at vacation bible school at their extended care place, which they like because several of their friends will be there and they always get to do some really cool arts and crafts.

My original plan for the summer with my girls included a week free of camps the last week before school started…but it was not meant to be. We’d been meaning to get them into a basketball class for a while now and hadn’t found one that suited our schedules. We finally did…and that’s where they’ll be in the mornings.

I kinda thought we would mellow out and hang out at home as school approached…but it seems that things sped up. Hmmmmm…I’m certain it was my fault somehow. But oh well. I can’t help myself. I’m still in that mindset of letting my girls try new and different experiences. After all, they’ll only be this young for so long.

Original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

Leave a Reply

