It’s All About Accessorizing…

It’s that time of the year again! School is in one week and you know what that means…back to school shopping! But I was smarter this year. I went through the girls’ closets, drawers and laundry and got a good idea of what they really needed and you know what? They grew again! Gosh darn it all. After making them stay in their bedroom to try things on for a half hour, I ended up with two kitchen-size bags full of small, worn out or won’t-wear clothes. heavy sigh  And that doesn’t include the shoes they’ve outgrown. Ugh.

The only thing that separates us from the animals is our ability to accessorize.” Olympia Dukakis, Steel Magnolias, – the theme to my shopping with Storyteller. The moment we entered any store, Storyteller made a beeline to the accessories stands. Scarves, headbands, necklaces, gloves and bracelets. If left up to her, I swear she’d wear an old pair of jeans, a non-descript t-shirt and all brand new accessories. I literally had to pull her away from the stands of shiny baubles to the racks lined with clothes. Eventually, I did…enticing her with fashion boots and shiny shoes. But of course, nothing fancy. She doesn’t want anything too fancy for school (her words). She said it’s just not like her. Gotta love a 7-year-old that knows she doesn’t want to be a fancy dresser. hahaha Someday, she may just take my fashion lead from high school and live in sweats each day…not sure if that would be a good or bad thing but hey, it saved precious time getting ready for sports practices in the afternoons.

As in the last few years, my husband and I split up our twins and shopped with each separately (admittedly, we don’t split them up often enough). From my accessorizer to my mixer & matcher, it’s always a different experience. Each has a different style and I’m always very curious to see what each picked out. Like last year, Songwriter, the mixer & matcher, chose a new dress and matching jacket for the first day of school. Storyteller, on the other hand, wanted to wear what she was wearing at that particular moment on our shopping trip for the first day of school. You may be thinking, what’s wrong with that? Well, being mom, I knew what she was thinking. She was completely distracted by the accessories just a few feet away and literally, only had eyes for those racks. Worse, I knew that when the first day of school rolled around, she would lament the fact that she didn’t get anything new or different to wear, eyeing her sister’s new outfit with sadness and envy. She would even admit it was her fault that she didn’t pick something out…but still, the regret would be there and I couldn’t stand to watch it.

At the end of our shopping trip, Storyteller told me that it was fun to split up and shop. But just so that I knew, she wanted to tell me that she missed her sister and couldn’t wait to show her everything she got…a comment which always makes me smile.

Original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Oh, the Drama of the First Morning of School | It's Never Easy But It's Always Fun

  2. Pingback: Halloween Costumes? Check. | It's Never Easy But It's Always Fun

Leave a Reply

