Hip Dysplasia and THR – What A Difference A Year Makes

Guess what! It’s been over a year now since I welcomed my first new hip. And on April 18th, my right hip will also be one year old. Happy Birthday to my hips! hahaha

I had my one-year checkup with my hip doctor a few weeks ago. I really didn’t have anything to complain about. In fact, he commented that oftentimes, his patients say that they don’t even notice their hips after a year or so. Guess I can join that group of happy hip people. But I do notice it quite often…not my hips, just the lack of pain as I do something like travel. The littlest things like hoisting my carry-on bag into the upper storage compartment or walking across the airport to catch a flight. It’s the little things in life that really had become the big things.

Anyway, I thought I’d put in one post, all of the posts I’d written about my hip dysplasia, surgeries and subsequent recoveries. I’d meant to do this a while back. I know there are or will be several people who will be shocked as I was to find out or have known forever about her hip dysplasia and are/were waiting for the right time to do a THR or two. So, my stories are in the following posts. I hope this helps educate and assure anyone that indeed, it’s all going to be just fine.

The Waiting is Over

Hip Dysplasia – It’s Not Just For Dogs

Halfway There – Right Hip Done!

You May Now Call Me The Bionic Woman

Down Time Is Almost Over

Time to Start on Some Personal Challenges

Finding My Temporary Limits

Too Much, Too Soon

An original post to It’s Never Easy But It’s Always Fun blog.

4 responses

  1. Linda, Thanks for putting your story all together. I have shared your journey with several friends who are not aware of their options. I am so glad to hear you are moving smoothly and freely. Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Field Hockey Is Comin’ ‘Round Again… | It's Never Easy But It's Always Fun

  3. Pingback: A Postcard-Image-Worthy Hike | It's Never Easy But It's Always Fun

Leave a Reply

